Medical Device
Manufacturing
THE TRADE PAPER OF THE FACTORY FLOOR
Z-2378-2021Class II

Baxter PrismaFlex, REF numbers: a) 106696 (M 60 SET) b) 106697 (M 100 SET) Expansion: c) 107144 (TPE2000 SET)...

Baxter Healthcare Corporation / initiated 2021-07-22 / Terminated / root cause: supplier

Baxter Healthcare Corporation began a recall of Baxter PrismaFlex, REF numbers: a) 106696 (M 60 SET) b) 106697 (M 100 SET) Expansion: c) 107144 (TPE2000 SET) d) 115307 (M 150 SET) e) 115309 (ST 100 SET) f)... on . FDA classified it as Class II and gives the reason as "Products labeled as sterile were distributed, but may not have been sterilized. " Baxter confirmed Steril Milano observed nonconformances that were not reported to Baxter. Data was manipulated to appear to be conforming". As of , the recall status on record is Terminated, and MDM tags the root cause as supplier.

Recall record

Recall number
Z-2378-2021
Classification
Class II
Status
Terminated
Initiated
Posted
Terminated
Recalling firm
Baxter Healthcare Corporation
Product
Baxter PrismaFlex, REF numbers: a) 106696 (M 60 SET) b) 106697 (M 100 SET) Expansion: c) 107144 (TPE2000 SET) d) 115307 (M 150 SET) e) 115309 (ST 100 SET) f) 955467 (M 150 SET) g) 955468 (ST 100 SET) h) 955595 (M 100 SET) i) 955596 (ST 150 SET) Used with Prismaflex or PrisMax control units for continuous fluid management and renal replacement therapies.
Product code
KDI Dialyzer, High Permeability With Or Without Sealed Dialysate System
Reason for recall
Products labeled as sterile were distributed, but may not have been sterilized. " Baxter confirmed Steril Milano observed nonconformances that were not reported to Baxter. Data was manipulated to appear to be conforming
Root cause tag
supplier
FDA root cause
Vendor change control
Action
The firm notified its consignees of the recall by letter on 07/22/2021. The letter explained the issue and requested the return of the affected product. Distributors were directed to notified their consignees.
Quantity in commerce
64275 units
Distribution
US Nationwide distribution.
Product codes and lots
a) 106696, Lot Numbers: 20B2329M b) 106697, Lot Numbers: 20B2323M, 20B2328M (expanded to include 20B2326M) Expansion: c) 107144, Lot Number 20B2325M d) 115307, Lot Number 20B2321M e) 115309, Lot Number 20B2310M and 20F0201 f) 955467, Lot Numbers 20A2604M, 20A2606M, 20A2607M, 20A2608M, 20B2331M, 20B2332M, 20B2333M, 20B2334M, 20B2335M, 20B2336M, 20B2347M, 20A2605M g) 955468, Lot Numbers 20A2602M, 20A2603M, 20B2308M, 20B2311M, 20B2312M, and 20B2324M h) 955595, Lot Numbers 20A2609M, 20A2610M, 20B2337M, 20B2338M, 20B2339M, 20B2340M, 20B2341M, 20B2342M, 20B2343M, 20B2344M, 20B2345M, and 20B2346M i) 955596, Lot Numbers 20A2601M, 20B2302M, and 20B2309M

Enforcement reports

One row per recalled product line
FDA enforcement reports joined to recall event Z-2378-2021
Recall numberClassStatusVoluntary or mandatedReport dateClassified
Z-2378-2021Class IITerminatedVoluntary: Firm initiated
Z-2379-2021Class IITerminatedVoluntary: Firm initiated